Showing posts with label funnies. Show all posts
Showing posts with label funnies. Show all posts

Tuesday, December 15, 2009

Musings...just like that!

The other day, it had been raining a little heavily where I live and as expected, our garden was soon teeming with life that is normally associated with the monsoon. I was meandering towards the living room in an almost lazy way. And what do you think I saw in the landing of the stairs? A foot long worm trying to crawl into the house. It was a deep russet in color and as with most worms, I couldn't make out which end was which. I assumed it to be an earthworm and called for dad so that we could safely release the little fellow back into the garden. Dad got out a soft bristled brush and an iron winnow from closet and since I don't normally have an aversion for worms when they aren't the majority, I stood quite close to the little creature to assure that Dad didn't kill it accidentally. As soon as the brush touched the worm's body, it started writhing in an almost surreal way and started gaining ground towards the house. And I should confess, it was hilarious seeing Dad jump back like he'd been scalded! As it turns out, it wasn't a worm at all! It was a baby snake who had gotten lost and to be honest, I don't think Dad was too enthusiastic about sparing its life when he deduced the proper species of the reptile and deemed it poisonous.

But thanks to my persuasion, he did manage to get the little tyke out of the house and back to the garden's long forgotten corner. This episode got me thinking... why are we averted by certain things just by the sight of it? Take for example the snake... True... it could've been poisonous and Dad was scared of it. But wasn't the snake even more terrified of the two huge otherworldly creatures who were prodding him with a weird looking thing? And it can't be blamed for being slimy and 'unsightly'! Wouldn't that mean we're actually doing something that we advocate others and out children not to do? To judge something based on its appearance?

Ah well... for now, the snake's safe... somewhere... I hope! And I'm here, sitting deep in thought as to what must've passed through his snakey mind when he saw us let him go like that... it must've been quite a scary experience for the little one!

Wednesday, July 29, 2009

Industrial Visit! Here I come!

We're finally FINALLY heading out on the much fabled yet hardly experienced IV or Industrial Visit! Sure, it's to some place that's a stone's throw away from my house. But to actually head out there with friends and have an awesome time while we're at it makes it all so much better!

And we're having another department join us as well... the M.Tech-ies! Actually, this is their IV. We're just tagging along so that we don't have to waste out Rs. 500 completely! Oh well... somethings are better than nothing... right?

And not to mention, there are people from the M.Tech department who'd rather jump in front of a burning and accelerating electric train than actually sit in the same bus as us, I'm not exactly sure how funny tomorrow is going to be! But oh well... it can never be dull.

So, I'm off people! I'll try posting pictures if I'm allowed to take snaps! And until then, toodles!

Psssst: I still have to say.... my HOD was born with his brain in his anus!

Friday, July 3, 2009

Anatha Thandavam - a movie that made me go.... eeeeeeeh?!

Where do I begin? Hmmm... just so it is understandable as to why I am reviewing this movie, I'll let you guys in on one thing. I'm moved by two things in life. Something that's really mind-blowingly good and something that's utterly sad. This movie falls under the second category. Now before people think this is some tear-jerker of sorts, I'll have them know that this movie moved me - away from ever watching it... or even thinking about watching it.... ever again!

The story is an adaptation on the late Tamil writer Sujatha's story "Pirivom Santhippom" (It means, we'll separate; we'll meet again...or something along those lines). And I don't know how the book was. But if it was anything as corny as the movie, I shall be surprised. Because, Sujatha is supposed to be a really prolific writer (I haven't read his books... It takes me an hour to make it to the second page!) or so my mother says!

The story begins with an Anna University Mechanical Engineer (he's my University's alumini?! Gee... I hope there aren't many like him out there!). Even after completing his course, he finds it very hard to secure himself a job. And even though that is kinda surprising,(Anna University students almost always find some job or the other!) after watching his character for fifteen minutes, I can see why! And he returns to his hometown near Ambasamudhram to his doting and understanding father (one of the very few people in the whole movie with something between his ears!). There, he meets Madhumitha, the daughter of the Chief Engineering Officer. She is this really naive and sweet girl whose pranks "supposedly" show her mischievous side (though plainly, five minutes into the whole 'prank' thing, I wanted to smack her up the head and wonder if she even has something that resembles a brain somewhere in her body).

And Raghu sees Madhumitha and she beholds him... blah blah blah... they fall in love. Having known each other for a fortnight, they get engaged. And when any normal person would hear alarm bells going off in their heads, our hero floats about in Cloud number nine! And when his father asks him about it, he accuses his pops of being paranoid and silly. (Kids these days!) But things go awry when Raghu takes up a job that Madhumitha's pops sets up for him (he leaves, completely forgetting his father - the man who raised him and fed him and clothed him... Seriously, falling in love doesn't make people this selfish and 'jerk'y!)

Enter Radhakrishnan. He is some bigass executive working in Macintosh with an artificial bald-spot that looks downright tacky! And Madhumitha in her childish way chooses to marry him instead. When Raghu hears of this, he is heartbroken! (Le gasp! You don't say!) He tries to kill himself but survives and decides to carry on with his life after his daddy-dearest gives him some pearls of wisdom about how chicks dig dudes with the right bling... blah blah... you know...

He gets admitted into New York University and on reaching there, is kinda shaken up by the American society today. (or atleast what the director thinks of it - shootouts, Korean guys killing their girlfriends who cheat on them, coloured people robbing unsuspecting Indians...yep! That is all the ever happens there folks! Oh.. And pole dancing! Am I even making sense here? >__<) There, he meets sensible and well rooted Rathna, a girl who values her independence and her culture equally and has managed to strike a balance between the two. One almost begins to accept that perhaps Raghu has finally put his silly visage and probably lives on like a normal person with a cerebral cortex when Madhumitha makes a comeback in his life and he realizes he likes her even after all the shit he’s been through thanks to her! (Awww…. Sweet…. NOT!)

And so, they meet up more often and soon, Raghu realizes Mr. ‘Baldy a.k.a. Baddy’ is actually sending her off to meet him so he can frolic around with sweet young things. And in the meantime, he is drawn to Rathna and they’re about to get engaged when Madhumitha comes to know of her hubby’s bad side and suffers abuse because of it. She runs to Raghu and asks him to run away with her. And all of this happens on the day he is supposed to get engaged to Rathna in Pittsburg. And so, there’s this huge hullabaloo and Raghu is ‘forced’ to leave Madhumitha. (seriously… forced you say? Oy Vey! And hasn’t that female heard of helplines for abuse victims? Wait… if she was that smart, she wouldn’t be married to the jerk in the first place now, would she!) Madhumitha cuts her hand and gets herself run over by a trailer in Malaysia! (Yep! You heard me right! I don’t think road signs are in Malay in Pittsburg…. Do you? Uh huh! I can be observant too, ya know! B-D)

And well… everybody except the hubby repents and blah…blah…blah… a really boring climax and an abrupt end. There you go people! I’ve reviewed the movie. And if anyone’s wondering why I subjected myself to this misery, paying money for the theatre people and all, I didn’t. This is from what I saw of the movie from TV. And I might see it again. I love making fun of these stupid, brainless characters you see! Yep… this girl’s an M and an S at the same time! =P

Psssst... don't let this review make you shy of seeing this movie! What's life without a little bad entertainment?! And I personally think Rukmini Vijayakumar who plays Rathna is kinda cute. Oh... and I'm going through PMS. But that does not affect this review in any way! =D